-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pretty Things

So, let me tell you a little story that will make your day, week, Friday, life, I don't know....but it restored my faith in humanity for the considerable future.

So not only do I work on clients in a day spa, I also help my best friend (who owns it) manage it on a full time basis as she is not a very wise businesswoman, and I have half a brain sometimes. We recently stopped offering certain services to renovate and make room to expand our business. Therefore, we had some unhappy customers who had been given gifts to come in and receive those services and were not happy when they learned that we no longer offered them. About 2 months ago, a lady called and asked for a refund on her gift certificate because she was not interested in anything else that we offer and was going to use it for a special occassion and yada, yada, yada. We've heard the story a hundred times over and had yet to issue refunds. I must have been feeling particularly friendly that day, and said fuck it and refunded the lady her $90. I receive a call from her the following week saying that I had refunded her twice and she received $180 instead of $90. I looked into the matter from our bank, our credit card processer and also through our paper work and reports and could not find anything stating that she had been refunded twice. I called her back and told her it must be her lucky day and that even if we had, $90 wasn't going to break our bank account and I wasn't worried about it. Yesterday I received a letter in the mail.
It read:

Greetings! We asked you to give us a refund for a $90 gift certificate and you did- thank you! Unfortunately, you refunded us twice. We called a couple of times and you said you didn't send us $90 two times, but the credits have stayed in our account for nearly 3 months. Today, our bank, USAA, confirmed that there were two $90 credits, so please accept this check and cash it. If by some crazy administrative error at USAA, you didn't really send us $90 twice, we ask you to keep it anyway and pass the blessing along to someone else who could use it more than us. Thanks again, and if we ever need a spa visit in the future, we will come to see you. May God bless you. - The ***** Family

She wrote me a check for $90 to give to someone who could use it. Inspiring to say the least. The least I could do is share it here for someone to stumble upon, to let you take something, anything from it. I will pay it forward and try my best to be a good person because there are other good people out there doing good things for other people.

9:22 a.m. - 2013-01-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hosted by DiaryLand.com