-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

National anthem

Some things. Some people. We will never forget. And when we are feeling hopeless, lost, like it's the end, we will turn them on like lights. Remember them. Live them like they never ended, like they never left. We will open them like they are doors out of the fucking mess we've made. We will skip on them like they are sidewalks to another place. Another time. Like there is no traffic to slow our progress.

I want to sweat because I'm nervous and excited and anxious. Like it's our first kiss. The first time we've held hands. Like it's the first time I let you in to sit on my bed until 4 in the morning. Laughing. Touching. Whispering secrets that we didn't want anyone else to hear. Like things never got real and serious.
I miss what it was like to lay in the grass watching the stars burn out. Planning a future we couldn't make work. I miss wanting to try. I miss trying.

Ps- I'm an aunt. 7 weeks early. Ventilator and oxygen off, I love that little 3 lb bean. Afton Bryant Dale is the most beautiful thing.

9:12 p.m. - 2010-02-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hosted by DiaryLand.com